Throwback Thursday: a Very Non-Villain Drawing (Princess Aurora)

A couple months ago I thought it would be fun to ask people on Instagram if they had a favorite Disney villain they’d like to see sketched. So I tossed out the question in a caption and waited to see if maybe a few friends had some requests. Much to my surprise, way more responses than I was expecting came flooding in, and thus commenced a Disney Villain Drawing Series that ended up lasting over a month. All the feels! It was a blast to revisit a ton of classic and contemporary bad guys of the Disneyverse, and to connect with fellow Instagrammers on what turned out to be a surprisingly universal love language—Disney villains. And I learned things as an artist from being forced to study such brilliant Disney art for a concentrated period of time, so that’s always a plus.

However, the first response I got was, rather hilariously, a request for Princess Aurora. Who is, in fact, not a villain. And ironically, the request came from my lovely fellow WordPresser Elissa Ryan McConathy. (Check out her brilliant blog here, in fact.) But I mean, who was I to say no to a chance to sketch Aurora?

So the Disney Villain Series started off on not a Disney villain.

Next week I’ll post the next installment in this throwback Disney art series. It’s one of my favorite villains of all time, and I can’t wait to share. Until then, take care, and thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “Throwback Thursday: a Very Non-Villain Drawing (Princess Aurora)

  1. Pingback: Throwback Thursday: Scar | randilynnpedia

Leave a Reply

