Art of the Week: a Styrofoam Cup of Coffee and Other Drawings

I’m writing this sitting on my couch with a baby hedgehog cuddled up asleep on my lap. Totally unrelated to this post, but a neat feeling since I didn’t use to have a baby hedgehog to keep me company while I blogged. It’s nice. I highly recommend it.

Anyway, to get back to the topic at hand, I have this running goal to have a new drawing to post on Instagram every day. (Check out the whole collection here if ya like.) Art helps keep me (mostly) sane when I’m walking through high-pressure situations in life, and plus I figure it’s good practice as an artist to draw every day. Win-win.

That said, I’d like to introduce Art of the Week, which’ll be a recap of the past week’s daily drawings. A weekly episode of drawings, if you will. The thing about Art of the Week that’s different from the Instagram posts or what gets put on my other social media, though, is that it will include behind the scenes stuff as well as failed attempts at times. (Like the one time I decided to sketch the lovely but ridiculously simple-to-draw Blue Fairy from Disney’s Pinocchio and in the process produced not one, not two, not three, but NINE miserable failed drawing attempts before I finally finished a passably adequate sketch of her. A tiny one in the corner of a notebook page. That was a depressing day.)

Cup of Coffee Drawing

Ironically, this week of all weeks was an absolute fail as far as drawing every day. The only sketch I produced was of this little styrofoam cup of coffee I had sitting on the table in front of me during a work meeting. Funny how a little coffee can cheer up mundane things, isn’t it? Anyway, even though it’s not a proper week’s worth of drawings, I thought it was fitting to start off these Art of the Week posts with coffee.

And just for fun, since I don’t have more drawings to share from this past week, here are a few small doodles from weeks gone by. Hope you enjoy, and see you next week!

Hippie Girl

Flower child…

Dachshund Puppy Drawing

…a tiny dachshund puppy…

Girl Drinking Coffee Drawing

…and a girl drinking coffee. Because what better to end this post with than more coffee?

 

One thought on “Art of the Week: a Styrofoam Cup of Coffee and Other Drawings

  1. Pingback: Art of the Week: Three Drawings | randilynnpedia

Leave a Reply

